It’s that time again, my fellow readers, and I’m pleased to say that this time we got a few more people throwing their hats into the ring for what film they want to see. Maybe it’s word of mouth, maybe it’s the idea of having a review themed around whatever holiday takes place the month it’s released, but I’m glad to see that this blog’s gaining some steam.

Now I know my track record for getting these reviews up early isn’t exactly stellar, but since September I’ve been working my hardest to get them done on time. I’ve actually started writing some movie reviews in advance so if they ever get chosen I can have them up faster (as is the case with this month’s review). I’m putting the finishing touches on it as you’re probably reading this. I’m pretty eager to get it out quickly because October is going to be a busy, busy month for me – Comic-Con, going down to Florida for my friend’s wedding (and spending a few days at Disney World while I’m there), and ending with that most wonderful time of the year, Halloween!

Speaking of, we have another tie! It’s come down to two Tim Burton stop-motion classics that are perennial favorites this time of year.

Your review for the month of October is…

What's this? Do I even have to ask?

What’s this? Do I even have to ask?


Thank you for voting. Cast your vote for November’s review by leaving a comment on what film you want to see or by emailing me at upontheshelfshow@gmail.com. Remember, you can find what films are available for reviewing by clicking on “What’s On the Shelf”, and you can only vote once a month.

Seeing as how November is the month of Thanksgiving, might I recommend some holiday favorites for possible reviewing?

  • March of the Wooden Soldiers (aka Babes in Toyland, 1934)
  • The Wizard of Oz
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
