Happy first day of June everyone! Apart from my crappy job, May was a lot of fun. I celebrated my birthday by being treated to the best homemade dulce de leche cake ever baked, started planning my next Disney World trip, and received some lovely feedback from longtime readers and followers. Thanks, guys!

Also, something interesting happened concerning the votes for this month’s review. Ties aren’t a common occurrence here but they have happened before, and now is another one of those times. Normally if there is one, I pick the winner from a hat. This time, however, the two movies in question are ones that would normally never get the spotlight when pit against most of the other films on the Shelf. Looking over both features I realized there’s so much I’d love to discuss, critique, and even joke around with that I couldn’t possibly decide between them. So, I’m making a bit of an unorthodox decision by reviewing one movie this month and the other in July. So this time around, we’re going to be voting for what’ll be reviewed in August. Everything still applies, one vote per person, perks with a charity donation, the whole shebang.

And now, your Movie Review for June is…

Clash-of-the-Titans-1981-movie-poster

TITANS. WILL. …gimme a sec, it’ll come to me.

angry mob

“Boo! Not fair! We didn’t vote for this movie!”

Tough toenails. There are worse things that have come from turnouts where nobody voted for the winner. And if 80’s sword and sandal fantasy isn’t your thing, I think you’ll find the following month’s film a little more sophisticated (sorry, you’ll have to wait one more month to find out what it is).

As for August, I say things should get a little more animated around here:

• Moana

• The Last Unicorn

• Kubo and the Two Strings

• Toy Story

• An American Tail

Now you all know the rules: the movies listed above are only a sample of films you can vote for that are On The Shelf, you can only vote once (unless you make a charity donation), and leave your vote either in the comments or by emailing me at upontheshelfshow@gmail.com.

See you in a couple of weeks, and on June 18th for the return of Gravity Falls reviews!

